Davao City – Winners of the 2019 Productivity Olympics were announced during the Awarding Ceremony held at The Sheraton Manila Bay on 04 October 2019.  Coffee for Peace, Inc., one of the two finalists representing Davao Region, was declared a National Winner in the Service Category for micro-enterprises.

The Productivity Olympics is a nationwide competition organized by the National Wages and Productivity Commission (NWPC) and held every two years wherein the best productivity practices of micro, small and medium enterprise are showcased.  For this year’s Productivity Olympics, two were chosen as finalists to represent the Davao Region, from the twelve candidates pre-selected by the Regional Tripartite Wages and Productivity Board-XI, and they were MS3 Agri-Ventures and Coffee For Peace, Inc.

Coffee for Peace Inc. operates the Coffee for Peace Café which is located in Unit 6105, One Oasis Ecowest Drive, Ecoland, Davao City Philippines. The coffee served in its café are from coffee beans roasted by a CQI Licensed Q Arabica Grader and which they source from their local coffee farmer partners in Mindanao at fair prices.

Coffee for Peace Inc. provides training on the planting, growing and harvesting of coffee.  The company believes that by enhancing the coffee-growing practices of local farmers, they can command higher prices for their coffee and thereby improve their living conditions.

As a national winner, Coffee for Peace, Inc. received a P100,000.00 cash award, a plaque of recognition, the right to use the Productivity Olympics logo for three (3) years and priority endorsement to training programs and services of NWPC/RTWPBs and DOLE.

The last time that a finalist from Davao Region won in the Productivity Olympics was in 2013.  This win of Coffee for Peace, Inc. heralds the revitalization of productivity champions in the Davao Region (RTWPB XI)

Felicitas “Joji” Pantoja (middle), Chief Executive Officer of Coffee for Peace Inc. with (from left) Executive Director of NWPC Maria Criselda R.Sy, Asst. Secretary of DOLE Joji V. Aragon, Undersecretary of DOLE Claro A. Arellano, and Undersecretary of DOLE Ana C. Dione

Winner! Chief Executive Officer of Coffee for Peace Inc., Joji Pantoja, receiving the cash award and plaque of recognition together with RTWPB-XI board members and staff.