Davao City- In relation to the continuing effort of the Department of Labor and Employment to enhance its job creation and facilitation services, additional 14 sites for the Skills Registry System (SRS) project were identified for implementation. Launching and Orientation schedules started last July 30, 2013 at Asuncion, Davao del Norte and on July 31 at Braulio Dujali and Panabo City.

The SRS is a national registry system that links the country’s active labor supply to the current manpower demand, by means of putting an input, such as qualification of a jobseeker in a computer so that it can be seen by potential employers.

“It is important that we implement the SRS, especially from the barangay unit where the listing of the jobseeker come from, so that we can come up with a more accurate database skills.” RD Suyao said.

“We will be able to help out not only those people seeking for a job but also employers who are in search for people with appropriate skills.” Suyao added.

Furthermore, the SRS Program was implemented by DOLE in partnership with the Public Employment and Services Office (PESO) and the Local Government Unit (LGU), with some agencies such as the Philippine Overseas Employment Administration (POEA), Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA), National Statistics Office (NSO), Professional Regulations  Commission (PRC), Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) with the same goal of producing reliable, accurate data on jobs and manpower pool and creating appropriate government intervention program.

The said program, having first launched in 2010, is now on its 4th wave of launching, targeting to cover the whole Region XI by the end of 2014. The remaining sites for launching and orientation are as follows:

Asuncion Davao del Norte- July 30, 2013, Braulio Dujali Davao del Norte – July 31, 2013
Matanao Davao del Sur – August 6, 2013, Hagonoy Davao del Sur- August 7, 2013
Sta Maria Davao del Sur- August 8, 2013,Don Marcelino Davao del Sur- August 9, 2013
Mabini Compostela Valley- August 20, 2013, New Bataan Compostela Valley- August 19, 2013
Mawab Compostela Valley- August 22, 2013, Laak Compostela Valley- August 23, 2013
San Isidro Davao Oriental- August 27, 2013, Tarragona Davao Oriental-August 28, 2013
Manay Davao Oriental- August 29, 2013, Boston Davao Oriental- August 30, 2013